11:11

As the big hand of the clock move a little bit over ten, the smaller hand at eleven, she begins to wish. You see, she’s a hopeful girl of hopeless wishes. She wishes for him to love her back. Every 11:11 am, even pm.

What are you whispering over there?

Hush. Keep quiet.

Is that your 11:11 mantra again?

It’s already 11:12. Stop it.

Oh.

Yeah. And you creep me out every time you do that. It’s insane how everyone’s treating 11:11 like it’s the most sacred time in the world. How about prayers? Don’t you pray before you sleep? What do you wish for? Do you really think it will be granted? Who grants all your wishes? Where did the 11:11 thing even come from? It’s stupid.

Woah. You ask a lot of questions for an idiot like you, eh? But I won’t let you know what I’m wishing for. My wish is only mine and to the one who will command it. I’m wishing for it because I’m hoping that it will be granted soon, bitch. And I don’t give a fuck about where it came from. All I know is I believe. And if you think I don’t believe in God because I keep on wishing at 11:11, well, I do. I pray before I sleep and after I wake up. But I don’t feel satisfied or contented, and that’s the reason why I still wish at 11:11 am/pm.

It still is stupid.

(It is stupid. It–fucking–is stupid. Believing in fairy tales, 11:11 wishes is stupid. Just like waiting for you after all these years even though I know that you’re not coming back. Even though I know that you have already forgotten about me. But I won’t look for you–I can’t. If you’d like to think that I have already died or never existed, I would, too. You are stupid and so am I. And I hate you. I hate believing in you. I hate believing in these wishes. But there’s a gut somewhere deep in my being, tugging to keep me on believing that something miraculous will happen someday (either you appear out of the blue and talk to me like nothing happened or that these wishes will all come true). Now, I still don’t know why I’m wishing for ludicrous things exactly at 11:11 a.m./p.m just like why I can’t seem to find the reason why I’m still hoping that you’d come back. One thing is I know for sure, hoping and wishing is not the same thing.)

Leave a Reply

